The Importance of Slow Fashion

As a fashion major, I started my freshmen year in a class called Fashion Retailing 101. I quickly bought into the ideas of fast fashion and accepted them as fact and saw no reason for alternatives. But as I began to do my own research of found out the immense horrors of this sect of the fashion industry. And if I continued down this career path, I would be greatly contributing to.

I began to research human trafficking and modern day slavery. From that I found Fast Fashion, and its impact on those making our clothes in 3rd world countries, its vast environmental impact, and its contribution to our materialistic habits.

What is Fast Fashion?

Essentially it is the cheap production of ultra trendy clothing. In order to produce these design quickly enough to sell them before the trend declines in the fashion cycle, it must be produced with cheap fabrics and materials, and is made in factories with little to no health, safety or pay standards. Then when the garment is shipped to the U.S. it is sold quickly and cheaply, and within a matter of months it is destined for a landfill.

This horrible cycle has become the standard for the fashion industry today. But it doesn’t have to be.  

blog-photo-girl-and-hair-clip

The Solution: Slow Fashion

What is slow fashion? Essentially, “Slow Fashion is the movement of designing, creating, and buying garments for quality and longevity. Slow fashion encourages slower production schedules, fair wages, lower carbon footprints, and (ideally) zero waste.”

I truly believe that if we do not address the countless issues of Fast Fashion in our society soon we will continue the irreversible effects on our environment, and we must stand up for the freedom and rights of factory workers who do not have a voice. Thankfully we are in a time where people are beginning to realize the problems with their consumption.

I will continue to write about slow fashion resources and companies we can support who are beginning with the end in mind and are empowering women.

P.S. Please go watch The True Cost documentary on Netflix. It will truly change your life. I promise!

lookbook3-44

Bethany Bishop

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Diana says:

    This is definitely something I know that I’m guilty of and need to work on. I’ve been trying to become more conscious slowly but maybe I just need to cut out fast fashion radically. Would love to read more about it on your blog.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment Diana! It is definitely hard to stop since it is so integrated into our culture. But with awareness and resources we can all encourage each other!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Re-thinking how I viewed the clothes I buy has been huge for me. A real person made what I wear. The True Cost is an amazing film.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! It completely transformed the way I look at clothing too!

      Like

  3. Thanks for the explanation. Fast fashion is a horrific thing, we have to make sure everyone know about it and start supporting responsible sustainable brands. Thanks for your input!

    Like

  4. C L A I R E says:

    I always stick with slow fashion. No matter what. ♥

    http://www.maryclairepinticasi.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

