Zero Waste and Toxin Free Beauty Routine

The first and most important aspect of going zero waste in any part of our lives is to simplify. You cannot expect to have your exact same products and routine that are zero waste and toxin free. And this is a great thing, because it challenges what you actually need and it saves you so much money, SCORE!

 

Over the past two years I radically changed the my beauty routine, this started by buying organic and paraben, sulfate, and phthalate…etc. free products. Which is a great step, but I still did not know what was in my products and thus going onto the largest organ in my body, skin. But now the only products I use are ones I make myself, with the exception of my shampoo bar that I buy from whole foods, more on that latter.

 

Teeth

  • I use a compostable, bamboo toothbrush from Brush with Bamboo
  • I make toothpaste with coconut oil, peppermint essential oils, and baking soda
  • And I use a stainless steel tongue scraper, if this is a new concept for you, go look them up! They are incredible for your oral hygiene as well as ridding your body from toxins!

Hair

  • Thankfully my hair is fairly low maintenance this routine works for me, but as always do what works for you and your life
  • Shampoo: I use a bar of shampoo that I buy in bulk from whole foods, and I love it! It smells great, cleans my hair and I know all the ingredients in it!
  • Conditioner: I do not use conditioner, because my hair does not require it, but If you need it there are tons of bulk and homemade recipes

 

  • Dry Shampoo: dry shampoo is a must for me, as my hair looks best when I let it go a few days without a wash. Instead of the aerosol cans that are full of aluminum and other endocrine disrupters, I simply use organic, non-GMO cornstarch, and I apply it using an up-cycled foundation brush. If you have dark hair you can always add a bit of cocoa powder to the mix.

 

Skin

  • For my face and body I use a bar of activated charcoal soap that I buy in bulk
  • Every once and awhile when my skin becomes dry and dull I will mix a bit of baking soda with coconut or olive oil and use it as an exfoliator.
  • Lotion: I have fairly dry skin and so I use olive oil mixed with some essential oils as lotions and simply apply after I shower. I know this may not work for everybody, as we all have different skin and needs. Here is a link for a recipe for homemade body butter that works fantastic!

 

Makeup

  • I currently do not wear makeup as I am allowing my skin to detox as well as myself to get used to myself without makeup, in order to reduce my dependence on it. But here are some of the recipes that I have used and love.
  • Blush: you can mix cocoa powder with beet root powder and it makes a wonderful blush.

 

  • Eyebrows: mix together about a tablespoon of coconut oil and of cocoa powder in a small metal or glass container. This works great to darken and shape eyebrows

 

 

Leave a Reply

