Why You Should Make Kombucha Part of Your Daily Routine

I began brewing my own Kombucha after my senior year of high school. And honestly all I knew about it was that it was good for you, and I saw a lot of Insta bloggers drinking it. So when my sisters roommate at the time brewed it, I jumped right in and asked her to teach me!

Since then I have taught friends and family, and even given away parts of my SCOBY to total strangers.

Whether you are brewing it yourself or buying it at the store it is a delicious way to add nutrients and probiotics to your routine.

Benefits 

First off for the beginners out there, Kombucha is a bubbly fermented tea that originated in China during 200 BC. Essentially a sweet tea mixture is added to a starter kombucha and fermented by the SCOBY (symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast).

  1. Gut Health: the gut and our microbiome’s are so essential to every part of our health, from our digestion, immunity, even to our brain function. Its insane! This is the reason that I initially began drinking and brewing it was to improve my gut health, and I have seen incredible results, which I will discuss in the next section.
  2. Immunity: gut health has a huge effect on our bodies ability to fight off illness. In addition to this, a powerful antioxidant known as D-saccharic acid-1, 4-lactone (DSL) was discovered during the kombucha fermentation process that’s not found in black tea alone.
  3. Cancer prevention: A study published in Cancer Letters found that consuming glucaric acid found in kombucha reduced the risk of cancer in humans.
  4. Digestion: Naturally, the antioxidant prowess of this ancient tea counteracts free radicals that create mayhem in the digestive system. However, the greatest reason kombucha supports digestion is because of its high levels of beneficial acid, probiotics and enzymes. 

How It Healed my Microbiome

During the spring of my senior year of high school, I got an IGg food intolerance test done which revealed that i had over 150 food intolerance’s, due to a leaky gut. I started by cutting all these foods out of my diet for 3 months, then slowly introducing them back. After my reintroduction phase I was left cutting out gluten, corn, soy, conventional dairy, and some other random things like cabbage, and raspberries. I continued to take supplements and probitotics for the past 2 and a half years, as well as consume a good bit of kombucha. While there were months where I hardly drank it, but for the past 10 months I drank it religiously, one 16oz bottle per day. It even became a running joke with my friends about my “kambuuucha” or “foot tea” as they would call it.

This winter, I got my IGg intolerance test re-done and crossed my fingers that It did not come back covered in red like it did the last time. And to my shock and joy almost every food came back normal and I only had a handful of intolerance’s left!

I can not give all the credit to kombucha, as there were many other lifestyle changes that took place, but it did have a huge part in healing my damaged gut.

Brands

I am a huge proponent of brewing your own kombucha and I will post the recipe for how to start your cultures soon! It is so much cheaper ($1 or $2 per gallon vs. $5 per bottle at the store), which makes it much easier when you are drinking it every day! and the other major benefit is that you can control the variables such as ingredients, flavors, and acidity.

Leave a Reply

